Lebanon Hospital CCU Receives Beacon Award for Excellence

The Critical Care Unit at Samaritan Lebanon Community Hospital is a recipient of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses silver Beacon Award for Excellence, a prestigious national honor recognizing leaders in nursing excellence. The award honors individual units that distinguish themselves by improving every facet of patient care.

The Beacon Award for Excellence is a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments. The award recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with the association’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award meet national criteria consistent with the American Nurses Credentialing Center Magnet Recognition Program, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“We have a fantastic team,” said Wendie Wunderwald, vice president of patient care services at SLCH. “Our CCU has had an incredible response over the last few years taking care of patients that are very sick. This recognition attests to who they are as clinicians and how they work together to provide excellent care.”

The CCU at SLCH earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

  • Leadership structures and systems.
  • Appropriate staffing and staff engagement.
  • Effective communication, knowledge management and learning and development.
  • Evidence-based practice and processes.
  • Outcome measurement.

Lillian Zhong, CCU manager nursing supervisor, was beaming with pride for her team.

“It’s extremely moving to see how devoted our team is to the community,” Zhong said. “They always have a can-do attitude despite the challenges that arise. The CCU has proven over and over again that they are doing a phenomenal job and our patients’ positive outcomes demonstrate this. I’m really proud of each member of our team.”

About the Beacon Award for Excellence: Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. Units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. To learn more, visit aacn.org/beacon.

circle-chevronemailfacebookSHS AffiliateinstagramlinkedinMyChart IconMyHealthPlan IconphonepinterestSearch Iconsilhouettetwitteryoutube